Chicken Enchiladas with Salsa Roja

Today is my last day home before I have to go back to UVA for the spring semester.  I am sad to leave home, but also excited to start a new semester and rush a new pledge class for my sorority.  Home is so nice because everything is simple.  I have time to read for myself, cook for others, and spend time with my friends and family.  My house is always cozy and warm.  I will miss my morning coffee with my mom, while we talk and plan for the day.  I will miss Lilly waking me up and showering me with kisses.  And I, of course, will miss nagging my dad to eat his vegetables and to stay away from the desserts, but secretly, handing him some dessert every now and then.  I can’t forget Clarkie too.  Even though we still fight like we are five, we still fit a couple laughs in now and then.

I’m going to miss playing with this girl!

Where my mom and I have our morning coffee.

As one of my “going away” meals, I made these chicken enchiladas.  They are my sister’s favorites and my best friend Avery’s.  You can make prepare these in advance, especially the salsa roja, and put in the oven when you are ready.  The first time I made them, I only made enough for one or two for each person.  I ended up having to make more because they were surprisingly so delicious.  If you want to double the salsa roja, I would recommend it if you want more salsa for serving.  The salsa is not too spicy, but if you want it to be more spicy, just add some hot sauce.  The original recipe did not call for cheese, but considering were such a cheese family, cheese was definitely needed.

Chicken Enchiladas with Salsa Roja
Makes 12 enchiladas
2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts
Slice of white onion
4 black peppercorns
1 clove garlic
Sea salt
10 jalapeno peppers, seeded and coarsely chopped
1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes, with juice
1/2 white onion, coarsely chopped
6 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 1/2 cups chicken stock
4 tablespoons canola oil
12 white corn tortillas, about 6 inches in diameter
1 cup Mexican cheese blend, shredded

For Serving
3/4 cup sour cream
1/4 cup plain yogurt
1/8 cup whipping cream
1 1/2 tablespoons lime juice
Kosher salt

1.Place the chicken pieces in a saucepan add boiling water to cover.  Place over medium-high heat until the water returns to a boil, skimming off any foam that forms on the surface.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and add the onion, peppercorn, and garlic.  Cover and simmer until the meat is opaque throughout, about 20 minutes.  Add salt to taste during the last 5 minutes.

2. Remove from the heat and transfer the chicken to a cooling rack or plate to cool.  When cool enough to handle, coarsely shred the chicken.  You should have about 2 cups shredded chicken.
3. To make the salsa roja, put the jalapeno peppers in a heatproof bowl and add boiling water to cover. Let soak until soak, about 10 minutes.  Drain the chiles.  In a blender, process the chiles, tomatoes with juice, onion, garlic, and oregano until smooth, adding 1/2 cup chicken broth as needed to achieve a very smooth consistency.

4. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  In a frying pan over medium heat, warm 1 tablespoon of the oil until it is shimmering but not smoking.  Pour in the jalapeno sauce and cook, stirring, until thickened about 2 minutes.  Add the remaining chicken stock and cook, stirring frequently, until thick, about 5 minutes.  Taste and adjust the seasoning with salt.  Remove from the heat.  Spoon a thin layer of the child sauce on the bottom of a 9-by-13-inch baking dish.  Cover the sauce to keep warm.

5.  Wrap the tortillas together in aluminum foil.  Heat in the oven until warm, about 7 minutes.  Working with one tortilla at a time, spread 1 heaping tablespoon of the shredded chicken and 1 tablespoon of the cheese near the edge of the tortilla, roll it up, and place it seam side down in the prepared baking dish.  Repeat with the remaining tortillas and chicken, arranging the rolled tortillas side by side in the dish.  Spoon the remaining sauce and sprinkle the remaining cheese over the tortillas.  Bake the enchiladas until heated through, about 5 to 10 minutes.
6. In a small bowl, combine the sour cream, plain yogurt, whipping cream, lime juice, and kosher salt, to taste.  To serve, top the enchiladas in the pan with the cream mixture.  Serve right away.

Cocina feliz! (Yes, I did have to look that up because I know absolutely no Spanish and would butcher their language if I did.)

Leave a comment